Obligatory self-introductions.

8/19/10

As you all know, my name is Stephanie. This is the first post, so a little about me. I have lived in four different places throughout my life: California, Singapore, Washington State, and China. Currently, I have been living in China for around six years; six years too long. Living internationally, I have had the opportunity to travel to various countries in a few years, including Italy, Australia, Taiwan, Japan, Thailand, Malaysia, and Mexico.

Living abroad is a lot more interesting, or perhaps less interesting, than it sounds, with shopping, Monday night pub quizzes, penning novels, and my offbeat adventures with my friends. Actually, that pretty much describes the purpose of the blog, with the addition of food, lists, and anything else I find interesting.

My likes include shopping, eating cupcakes, planning trips, and reading. My dislikes list is a lot more extensive, but to name a few, people who are rude, people who think they are great/pretty/really smart/better than others, and mosquitoes.

 Stephanie

August 19th, 2010 

When I was in eighth grade, our teacher made us play this dumb game where you have to describe yourself with an adjective that started with the same letter as your first name. Now that I think about it, some of the adjectives that some people came up with were slightly disturbing (i.e. Terribly Troubled Tiff. Who is troubled in eighth grade?)

Anyway, I came up with Sumo Sophie. In hindsight, I realize that perhaps a more accurate adjective would be sarcastic. I think I view life with an appropriate amount of cynicism balanced with the finer appreciation of fine things (i.e. decorated cupcakes and washboard abs).

I was born in Boston, but raised in New Jersey. Unfortunately, I was raised in Princeton, so I can’t claim that I’m from the Jersey Shore, as much as I want to (G.T.L. for life! Except I don’t really like any of those three things.) I moved back and forth from Beijing to Seattle in the years afterwards, and now I’m back in Beijing again. I’m currently a senior at an international school here. I used to hate life here, but recently, it’s gotten pretty interesting. Though, I have to say, there is a noticeable lack of attractive people here.

I have had plenty of adventures here, which I suppose Stephanie and I will chronicle in later blog posts. Among the highlights include Monday night pub quizzes, writing a full-length novel (no big deal), and going out whenever we have free time. I also like playing Neopets, but virtual adventures are a whole other situation. Don’t even get me started on Disney.com.

 Among my favorite things to do are looking at pictures of food (I can’t eat them, or else I’ll expand like a balloon), finding strange and adventurous things for me to do with my friend “M” (we may sign up for a road trip from Beijing to Germany with strangers in June), watching television, reading, walking in my Skechers Shape-Up shoes, surfing the web, and listening to music. I don’t like unhygienic people (particularly people who smell bad), tomatoes/garlic/onions/ginger, mosquitoes (and bugs in general), inconsiderate people, show-offs, math, and frogs. It’s a strange list.

 Anyway, I’m certain my adventures and love for pictures of food will please at least some people.

 

About urbanfancies

twitter.com/fabuls twitter.com/runbunnyrun
This entry was posted in about us. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

