Cupcakes + Clubbing

So this week it was our friend’s birthday, so Steph and I decided to bake red velvet cupcakes. We didn’t realize that Devil’s Food (which is what red velvet cupcakes are made from) is just chocolate cake. It was kind of disappointing, though the cupcakes were still delicious. We baked on Wednesday and on Friday – I have to say, the cupcakes we baked on Friday are a major upgrade from our Wednesday’s cupcakes. We’re doing this little experiment with our friend J: I’m bringing her food every single class and we want to see if, like a rodent, she absorbs it all.

Our Wednesday cupcakes (red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting):

Our Friday cupcakes (red velvet cupcakes with Oreo crumbs, butterscotch chips, marshmallows, and vanilla frosting):

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cupcake in the middle is our monster cupcake we created for J. It’s basically what it looks like: two cupcakes stacked on top of each other, glued together by a nice, thick, creamy layer of vanilla frosting. It’s beautiful. It also has probably around 500 calories. J can handle it.

Later in the night, Steph and I decided to go clubbing at Houhai, a giant lake surrounded by bars and clubs. One of the best parts about going clubbing is the dressing up. Since we don’t often get a chance to wear heels, we realized that this was the perfect opportunity to do so. I briefly wondered if I should, considering that we would be walking around the monster lake, but my desire to wear heels overwhelmed my qualms.

Here is what I wore:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m wearing a leather jacket I bought from a department store in Hong Kong (featured in my Inside My Closet post), a lace shirt from Nordstrom’s Brass Plum, a bandage colorblock skirt from Forever21 (Steph has the same one), two-toned tights from Nordstrom’s, and heels from a Chinese boutique (featured in my Shoes, Shoes, Shoes post).

Steph’s outfit:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyway, going to Houhai was chill and relaxing. The downside of Houhai is that some of the areas around the lake literally smell like shit. But then, the longer we inhaled the pungent smell, the more it started smelling like Chinese food. So I wonder what that says about Chinese food.

We spent most of our time at a reggae bar, which we like because there’s outdoors seating, plus the drinks are super cheap, if also very concentrated. Steph had a rum and coke, while I had a White Russian and “The Godfather” – which is whisky and Amaretto. That was one concentrated drink.

A certain someone (let’s call him T) showed up about halfway through), shocking both Steph and me. However, T is another story for another time. Cheers.

About urbanfancies

twitter.com/fabuls twitter.com/runbunnyrun
This entry was posted in Fashion, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

